Ahobilam Nrisimha Swamy Temple

Ahobilam is located in Kurnool district of Andhra Pradesh in the hills of the Eastern Ghats.The temple consists of nine shrines to Lord Nrisimhadeva located around a 5 KM circle. In addition to the nine shrines, there is a temple for Prahaladavarada in the foothills of the mountain. Due to security reasons and the difficulty in performing daily workship, many of the utsava vigrahas of the nine shrines are kept in this temple.

Garuda wished for a vision of Lord Nrisimhadeva in the form of the Avathara. To fulfill his wish, the Lord settled in the hills around Ahobilam in the midst of dense forests in nine different forms. For this reason this hill came to be known as Garudadri, Garudachalam, and Garudasailam.Ahobilam is the place where the Lord killed Hiranyakasipu and saved Prahalada. Mahalakshmi took avathar as Senchulakshmi among the Senju, tribal hunters of the hills, and married the Lord. Sri Ahobila Lakshmi Nrisimhadeva Swamy is one of the most important Sri Vaishnava religious institutions in India, was established by Sri Athivan Satakopan at the instructions of Lord Lakshmi Nrisimhadeva of Ahobilam.

In fact, the utsava moorthy of the Malola Nrisimha temple, one of the nine shrines of Ahobilam, is the presiding deity of Sri Ahobila Mutham. Sri Malolan accompanies Srimad Azhagiya Singar, the spiritual and titular head of Sri Ahobila Mutham, on his travels.Thirumangai Azhvaar has sung ten verses about this temple in Periya Thirumozhi.

The Below list of temples in Ahobilam:

  • Sri Ahobilam Nrisimhadeva Swami Temple.
  • Sri Kroda/Varaha Nrisimhadeva Swami Temple.
  • Sri Jwala Nrisimhadeva Swami Temple.
  • Sri Malola Nrisimhadeva Swami Temple.
  • Sri Yogananda Nrisimhadeva Swami Temple.
  • Sri Chatravata Nrisimhadeva Swami Temple.
  • Sri Paavana Nrisimhadeva Swami Temple.
  • Sri Bhargava Nrisimhadeva Swami Temple.
  • Sri Karanja Nrisimhadeva Swami Temple

Nrisimhadeva Swamy Temples at Upper Ahobilam:

  • Sri Ahobilam Nrisimhadeva Temple.
  • Sri Kroda/Varaha Nrisimhadeva Temple.
  • Sri Jwala Nrisimhadeva Temple.
  • Sri Malola Nrisimhadeva Temple.

Nrisimhadeva Swamy Temples at Lower Ahobilam:

  • Sri Yogananda Nrisimhadeva Temple.
  • Sri Chatravata Nrisimhadeva Temple.
  • Sri Paavana Nrisimhadeva Temple.
  • Sri Bhargava Nrisimhadeva Temple.

Karanja Nrisimhadeva Swamy Temple in between Upper and Lower Ahobilam.

Temple Timings:

The Temple is open for pilgrims as follows.

Lower Ahobilam : Morning 6.30AM to Afternoon 1.00PM & Afternoon 3.00PM to Evening 8.00PM

Upper Ahobilam : Morning 7.00AM to Afternoon 1.00PM & Afternoon 2.00PM to Evening 7.00PM

Subtemples : Morning 9.00AM to evening 4.00PM